The Community Enhancement Programme (CEP), which is funded by the Department of Rural and Community Development, will provide €4.5 million of grant funding in 2018 towards enhancing the facilities available to communities.

The CEP programme replaces and builds on two existing schemes (Communities Facilities Scheme and RAPID). Combining the schemes will make for a more flexible, streamlined and targeted approach to providing funding to those communities most in need.

The Programme will provide capital funding to communities across Ireland to enhance facilities in disadvantaged areas. Some funding is ring-fenced for smaller projects, from lawnmowers and IT equipment to minor renovations to buildings. The CEP also provides funding towards larger projects in disadvantaged areas. Typical enhancements under the programme could include the renovation of community centres, community amenities, improvements to town parks, common areas and spaces, CCTV equipment and energy efficiency-type projects.

The CEP will be administered by the 33 Local Community Development Committees. They will be advertising locally for suitable projects shortly and will provide details on how to apply in each area. The closing date for applications is 30th July 2018.

The Department carried out a review into the Communities Facilities Scheme and the RAPID programme, the Community Enhancement Programme is as a result of that review. The report on the review is available here.

An increased level of funding (relative to 2017) has been provided to each local authority area. For details on the funding in each area please see the below table.

Local Authority Amount
Carlow €134,206
Cavan €134,757
Clare €139,257
Cork City €149,241
Cork €160,762
Donegal €159,461
Dublin City €212,306
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown €142,108
Fingal €150,521
Galway City €132,455
Galway €143,401
Kerry €142,409
Kildare €148,013
Kilkenny €136,319
Laois €136,524
Leitrim €129,223
Limerick €152,942
Longford €132,385
Louth €145,542
Mayo €145,203
Meath €142,893
Monaghan €132,571
Offaly €138,550
Roscommon €133,301
Sligo €134,084
South Dublin €169,399
Tipperary €149,690
Waterford €144,499
Westmeath €136,571
Wexford €150,065
Wicklow €141,343

Find Out More

The deadline for applications to your local LCDC is 30 July 2018, unless otherwise indicated.

Find your local LCDC here >>